All posts tagged “Alex Nathanson

Alumni & Faculty News – Alex Nathanson, Ji Yeo, Gillian Laub and Nancy Borowick

Alex Nathanson GS’09 plays with Fan Letters at Firehouse Space, Brooklyn, May 10.

Fan Letters has sound installations at the Queens New Music Festival, May 13 – 17.

Fan Letters plays at the Film Society of Lincoln Center, May 28.

Ji Yeo GS’06 is featured in NY Arts.

The PDN Photo Annual has listed its 2015 winners:
for photo books: faculty members Alex and Rebecca Norris Webb, Joao Pina PJ’05, Infinity Award winner LaToya Ruby Frazier for photojournalism/documentary: Philip Montgomery PJ’10
for personal: faculty member Jonathan Torgovnik, Nancy Borowick PJ’10, faculty member Natan Dvir, Toni Greaves PJ’08
for video: Gillian Laub GS’98, faculty member Ed Kashi
Advertisements

Alumni & Faculty News – Alex Nathanson, Ayumi Tanaka, Mark Alice Durant

MATA Interval Presents: I/O: An Evening of Multimedia Performance curated by Alex Nathanson for the Museum of the Moving Image, March 7, is featured in Art F City in “This Week’s Must-see Art Events: Edit Your Heart Out”.

Alex Nathanson GS09 is featured in “Experimental Sound at the Museum of Museum Image” in OMNI Reboot.

The Three Traumas curated by Jorge Alberto Perez MFA12 with Teresa LoJacono MFA12 at the Camera Club of New York, and Developed: Three Emerging Photographers with Ayumi Tanaka GS10 at United Photo Industries are featured in Feature Shoot “Feature Shoot Recommends Top 10 Photo Events and Happenings in New York March 2-8“.
Faculty member Laura Larson is featured in Saint Lucy, published by faculty member Mark Alice Durant.

Alumni & Faculty News – Alex Nathanson, Claudia Sohrens, Fred Ritchin, Bradly Treadaway

Alex Nathanson GS09 organized the live event MATA Interval Presents: I/O: An Evening of Multimedia Performance, in which he also performs as part of the group Fan Letters at the Museum of the Moving Image, March 7  http://www.movingimage.us/visit/calendar/2015/03/07/detail/mata-interval-presents-io-an-evening-of-multimedia-performance; Fan Letters performs at Silent Barn, Brooklyn, April 12  http://www.fanletters.info/shows.html

Faculty member Claudia Sohrens GS98 has a solo show Paternoster, at the A.I.R. Gallery, Brooklyn, March 5 – 29  https://www.facebook.com/events/389047217940078/

Dean Fred Ritchin & faculty members Marvin Heiferman & Ken Schles are published in the forthcoming anthology Vision Anew – The Lens and Screen Arts, edited by Adam Bell & Charles Traub (University of California Press, 2015)  http://www.ucpress.edu/book.php?isbn=9780520284708

Faculty & staff member Bradly Treadaway is in the group show New American Sculpture, curated by Dexter Wimberly, at FiveMyles, Brooklyn, February 28 – March 29, opening reception February 28  http://www.fivemyles.org/newamericansculpture

Alumni & Faculty News – Paula McCartney, Farideh Sakhaeifar, Alex Nathanson, Carlos Motta, Kristoffer Axen

A Field Guide to Ice and Snow by alum Paula McCartney GS96 is reviewed in the Photo Eye blog  http://blog.photoeye.com/2015/01/book-review-field-guide-to-snow-and-ice.html?utm_source=photo-eye&utm_campaign=4755b1b64e-API_Newsletter_Volume_2_Number_167_24_2014&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_867a4f7ae2-4755b1b64e-87952461

Former GS intern and Infinity Award nominee Farideh Sakhaeifar is profiled in The Guardian in “Men at Work: Iranian workers taking photographs – exhibit” http://www.theguardian.com/world/iran-blog/2015/jan/21/-sp-iran-workers-are-taking-photograhs-farideh-sakhaeifar?CMP=share_btn_tw

Alex Nathanson GS10 is part of the Exquisite Contraption: Quit While You’re Ahead Final Party at Flux Factory, January 23  https://www.facebook.com/events/688352161274838/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular

Faculty member Carlos Motta lectures at Pratt Institute, February 11  https://www.pratt.edu/events/single/?id=21372

 

 

Alumni & Faculty News – Yael Ben-Zion, Corinne Botz, Alex Nathanson, Fryd Frydendahl

Yael Ben-Zion GS07 is featured on 20 Minutos  http://www.20minutos.es/noticia/2271026/0/yael-ben-zion/fotografia/matrimonio-mixto/

Faculty member Corinne Botz was interviewed on the BBC  http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04mgxt4

Mon’s Future the solo exhibition by Fryd Frydendahl GS09, curated by Megumi Tomomitsu GS09 at the Baxter St Space of the Camera Club of New York is one of the selections of the “Top 10 Photo Events and Happenings in New York (Nov 3 – 9)   http://www.featureshoot.com/2014/11/fs-recommends/?fb_action_ids=10203982867544715&fb_action_types=og.likes

Alex Nathanson GS09 as part of the group Fan Letters performs in the evening program of Video Score at Outpost Artist Resources, Ridgewood, November 7  http://fastfoodcollective.tumblr.com/

 

Alumni & Faculty News – Frances Denny, Alex Nathanson, Gillian Laub, Fryd Frydendahl,

Frances Denny GS10 photographed “Uncommon Threads” for Architectural Digest  http://www.architecturaldigest.com/shop/2014-09/michael-savoia-embroidery

Alex Nathanson GS09 is reviewed in “New Filmmakers Still Makes Weekly Discoveries, 16 Years On” in The Village Voice  http://www.villagevoice.com/2014-08-20/film/newfilmmakers-series-2014/

Lucas Foglia and Gillian Laub GS98 are recipients of IPF Grants from the Aaron Siskind Foundation for 2014  http://aaronsiskind.org/recipients.html

Fryd Frydendahl GS09 is interviewed by Opaque Journal  http://opaquejournal.com/fryd-frydendahl/ and is profiled in Magasinet Kunst  http://www.magasinetkunst.dk/Home/Detail/MzA1Ng%3d%3d

Alumni & Faculty News – Stephanie Cardon, Frances Denny, Fryd Frydendahl, Alex Nathanson

Stephanie Cardon GS01 is in the group show Twelve Nights at the Boston Sculptors Gallery, August 6 – 24  http://twelvenights2014.wordpress.com/about/

Frances Denny GS10 interviewed and photographed Jay Field, Editor in Chief of Town and Country, for Into The Gloss  http://intothegloss.com/2014/08/jay-fielden-town-and-country/

Fryd Frydendahl GS10 has a solo exhibition Salad Days at V1 Gallery /Official, Copenhagen, Denmark, opening August 31  https://www.facebook.com/events/714583748614151/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular

Alex Nathanson GS10 premieres his film Letters to John Grisham in the New Filmmakers series at Anthology Film Archives, August 6  http://www.newfilmmakers.com/

Alumni & Faculty News – Phillip Block, Alex Nathanson, Andreas Rentsch, Allen Frame

Director of Education Phillip Block hosts his annual dinner at the Grand Hotel Nord-Pinus, Arles, France, during the Arles Photo Festival, July 10th; alumni interested in attending the dinner should RSVP to Rachel Brown at rbrown@icp.edu by June 23rd.

Alex Nathanson GS09 shows at the Winnipeg Underground Film Festival, June 27  http://www.winnipeguff.com/index.php/friday-june-14/700—the-90-second/

Faculty member Andreas Rentsch GS90 is in the group show Off the Block: An Exhibition of work by NYFA Fellows at the Southampton Art Center, June 26 – July 20  http://southamptoncenter.org/<

Faculty member Allen Frame has a solo show Dialogo con Bolano at Musas Museo De Arte De Sonora, Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico, June 26 – September 29  https://www.facebook.com/MuseoMusas<

Alumni & Faculty News – Mauro Restiffe, Amin Husain, Jean-Christian Bourcart, Alex Nathanson, Gillian Laub

Mauro Restiffe GS95 has a portfolio “Oscar Niemeyer’s Funeral” in Aperture #215 The Sao Paulo Issue http://www.aperture.org/magazine/

Amin Husain GS10 is quoted in Hyperallergic http://hyperallergic.com/128514/protesters-stage-intervention-at-guggenheims-futurist-exhibition/

Faculty member Jean-Christian Bourcart is in the group show The Disasters of War at the Louvre-Lens, Lens, France, May 28 – October 6 http://www.louvrelens.fr/en/desastres and will speak at Union Docs, June 13 http://www.uniondocs.org/2014-06-13-the-traffic-of-illusions/

Alex Nathanson GS09 organized the month-long series of events Nightlight for Flux Factory, opening June 7 http://www.fluxfactory.org/projects/nightlight/ and is quoted in Art F City for his upcoming project Nightlight for Flux Factory http://artfcity.com/2014/05/30/preview-flux-factorys-garden-party-nightlight/

Gillian Laub GS98 videotaped “America’s Transgender Homecoming Queen Speaks Out” for Time http://time.com/135844/transgender-cassidy-lynn-campbell/

Alumni & Faculty News – Alex Nathanson, Yael Ben-Zion, Monika Bravo

Alex Nathanson GS09 is in the event Exquisite Contraption – It’s Totally Working Now! at Flux Factory, April 18  http://www.fluxfactory.org/projects/exquisite-contraption/ and is featured in Impose Magazine   http://www.imposemagazine.com/bytes/exquisite-contraption-flux-factory

Yael Ben-Zion GS07, Antoine D’Agata PJ91, and faculty members Jessica Backhaus, Roe Ethridge, Justine Kurland, Janelle Lynch, Mary Ellen Mark, Richard Rendaldi show in Paris Photo Los Angeles, April 25 – 27  http://www.parisphoto.com/losangeles

Monika Bravo GS95 is featured in Terremoto  http://terremoto.mx/Elias-Heim-y-Monika-Bravo-en-NC-Arte-Bogota-Cundinamarca-Colombia