Current Work – Zachary Pintchik GS 17

Pintchik Hardware (1 of 6).jpgPintchik Hardware (2 of 6).jpg

 In My Father’s Basement

At the beginning of my year at ICP I started working on a project about my family’s hardware store. Pintchik Hardware celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2013 and our current location at the corner of Bergen Street and Flatbush Avenue has been operating since 1963. As the family business has shifted more toward real estate, the hardware store has shrunk in size – what was once a sprawling store with separate departments for paints, carpeting, and window blinds, is now a cramped, vestigial sliver of its former self. Pintchik Hardware will move to a new location later this year, two doors down from its current space.

I gathered this selection of still-life images from a series visits to the basement of the hardware store, and to its new location, currently under construction. When I went to photograph the basement for the first time I thought I might find some secrets my family had hidden away from the public eye. Instead only found the clutter that had appeared as we prepared to move the store into its new space, covered in a fine layer of dust.

Pintchik Hardware (3 of 6).jpgPintchik Hardware (4 of 6).jpg
Pintchik Hardware (5 of 6).jpgPintchik Hardware (6 of 6).jpg

 

 

 

 

