24/7- Petronella Aslund – GS 15 – Sweden

nellla_3f_107 001

Petronella Aslund

NinetyThreeSecrets

Age: 22

Hometown: Stockholm, Sweden

What were you doing before ICP?

Before ICP, I worked for an online magazine, shooting festivals and concerts. Then I started studying in the photo program at Bergh School of Communications in Stockholm. After graduation I applied to ICP and Parsons School and got accepted in both. I had to defer for a year because I was broke and to save up for tuition I started working nights in Postal services.

9:30am: It’s hard to wake up because the school keeps me up all the time. I crawled out of bed and showered (although I didn’t want to!)

10am: Had a bagel with cream cheese for breakfast. I had breakfast in my bed because I have creepy flatmates.

10:30am: To get a glimpse of daylight in my bedroom, I started shoot self portraits until 12.

12:30pm: Got ready to go to school. Left my apartment in Crown Heights at 1pm and I took the 2 train to Times Square. I listened to Game of Thrones audiobook all the way to school while playing 2048 on my phone because it is relaxing.

1:45pm: Walked across super crowed Times Square.

2pm: Attended Production Seminar by Frank Franca till 5pm. Production Seminar is the class where we all get ready for the final exhibition and end of the school year portfolios. This class generally runs till 5:30 because all of us have a lot to say!

5:30pm: I go develop the black and white film I shot this morning.

6:30pm: I get some dinner because I realized I haven’t eaten anything since the bagel.

7pm: I finish my dinner and go scan my negatives in the Digital Media Lab B while printing for my friday class. And since I am a control freak and a perfectionist I end up spending my entire evening printing in the lab because my prints have to be perfect. 

12:30pm:  I get kicked out of the lab because the school is closing.

1am: I get on the Q train from Times Square (2 was running slow) and get off at Prospect Part and walk for about 15 minutes on the dark and empty streets to reach my apartment in Crown Heights.

2am: I realized that I haven’y eaten anything since 6:30pm so I have a bowl of yogurt and watch Elementary which is so exciting that I can’t sleep. Then I start watching FRIENDS on Netflix so that I can sleep as my annoying flatmate is snoring loudly.

4:30am: Off to bed.

10am: I get up after 5 hours of sleep to head back to ICP again because I have so much work to do!

