Student Work – Maddalena Arcelloni

Maddalena Arcelloni – Alumna GS 14 – Italy

Memories from the Body

Memory is generally defined as the ability of our mind to recall a particular moment in our lives. However, I always felt this concept was too restraining since I discovered that my body, too, was able to recall a specific impression through the stimulation of other senses.

I find that the memories recalled by my body, through physical reactions to smell and touch, are always much more intense than those I can recall with my mind.
It feels like my body is dragged back into the past, to those specific moments in time, when I physically experienced the relationships with others.

In their diversity, the bonds we establish all have in common a varying intensity and the invisible traces that others’ touch leaves with and on us. I therefore introduced the body into my photographic practice to visually translate its ability to be imprinted with significant sensations, experiences and to be shaped by the bonds we are involved in.

