Monthly archives of “September 2014

Alumni & Faculty News – Sofia Cordova, Mauro Restiffe, Hannah Whitaker, Marina Berio

Sofia Cordova GS05 has a solo show Every Night I Tell Myself I Am The Cosmos at the Royal Nonesuch Gallery, Oakland, CA, October 11 – November 9  http://royalnonesuchgallery.com/index.php?/exhibitions/sofia-cordova/

Mauro Restiffe GS95 is reviewed in Blogdoims  http://www.blogdoims.com.br/ims/a-estranha-vida-das-cidades

Faculty & staff member Liz Sales MFA10 published an essay and an interview with GS Chair Marina Berio in the journal Conveyor 6: The Alchemy Issue  http://conveyormagazine.org/; Liz published an essay on the work of Hannah Whitaker GS06 in Foam Magazine http://www.foam.org/foam-magazine/portfolios/foam-talents-2014/hannah-whitaker ; Liz wrote an essay for the book Half Wild by Peter Happel Christian  http://conveyoreditions.com/main/portfolio-page/peter-happel-christian-half-wild/

Alumni & Faculty News – Ally Lethbridge, Sara Skorgan Teigen, Flemming Ove Bech, Florence Montmare

Ally Lethbridge (GS) and Sara Skorgan Teigen (GS) are included on the Paris-Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards 2014 Short List http://www.aperture.org/blog/photobook-awards/announcing-paris-photo-aperture-foundation-photobook-awards-2014-short-list/

The book Matter, published by Flemming Ove Bech GS09, is featured in The New Yorker  http://www.newyorker.com/tech/elements/camera-sees-color

Florence Montmare GS00 has a solo show, Illuminations, at the Ivy Brown Gallery, September 18 – October 18  http://ivybrowngallery.org/florencemontmare.html ; Florence speaks about the exhibition on NBC  http://www.nbcnewyork.com/video/#!/on-air/as-seen-on/Gallery-Exhibit–ILLUMINATIONS/275852541

Alumni & Faculty News – Qian Ma, Jean-Christian Bourcart, Martine Fougeron, Flemming Ove Bech

Qian Ma GS14 is reviewed in aPhotoEditor   http://www.aphotoeditor.com/2014/09/02/the-best-work-i-saw-at-review-santa-fe-14/

Faculty member Jean-Christian Bourcart is in the group show XXX at BANK at MABSOCIETY, Shanghai, opening September  http://www.mabsociety.com/xxx.html

Faculty member Martine Fougeron GS06 has a solo show Heart of the South Bronx: Trades opening at the Half King Photo Series on September 17; Martine speaks with Elisabeth Biondi at Half King on September 17  https://www.facebook.com/events/742927125768192/?ref=22

Lodret Vandret the publisher run by Flemming Ove Bech GS09 is featured in Juxtapoz  http://www.juxtapoz.com/photography/lodret-vandret-to-release-drawing-book-by-photographer-asger-carlsen

Alumni & Faculty News – Fryd Frydendahl, Martine Fougeron, Joseph Rodriguez, Frances Denny

Fryd Frydendahl GS09 is interviewed in Vice  http://www.vice.com/en_dk/read/talking-salad-days-with-fryd-frydendahl

Faculty member Martine Fougeron GS06 is in the group show BRONX Artist Documentary Project, at the Bronx Documentary Center, opening September 13  http://bronxdoc.org/; she’s also featured in the PDN Photo of the Day  http://potd.pdnonline.com/2014/09/28549#gallery-5

Faculty member Joseph Rodriguez GS85 is featured in Stern  http://www.stern.de/fotografie/fotos-von-joseph-rodriguez-die-kinder-von-spanish-harlem-2135519.html; he’s also in the group show A Story To Tell at Hardhitta Gallery, Berlin, Germany, September 17 – 28  http://www.hardhittagallery.com/exhibitions-new/

Frances Denny GS10 is among Aline Smithson’s “Five Favorite: Photographers to Watch” in Light Leaked  http://www.lightleaked.com/2014/09/aline-smithsons-five-favorite.html

Student Work – Maha Al-Asaker

Student Work – Maha Al-Asaker  – Kuwait

Bio:
Maha Alasaker is a Kuwaiti photographer based in New York City. She is a 2014 ICP graduate from the Full Time Program in general Studies. She has been represented by JHB Gallery since July 2014.
Maha’s work has been featured in numerous exhibitions in New York City, United Arab of Emarit and Kuwait. Most recently, as part of the“ Art on Paper” March 2015, “ Miami Project”, December 2014 and “ArtMarket – Hampton ” July 2014.
Her work engages with identity and cultural issues.

Artist Statement:
As a woman born and raised in the Middle East, I had to learn untold dynamics and adapt to them by hiding aspects of my true self to fit in. This work addresses feelings of restriction, constraint and the universal theme of oppression brought on by cultural and societal codes.

Alumni & Faculty News – Fryd Frydendahl, Matthew Monteith, Salome Oggenfuss

Fryd Frydendahl GS09 is one of the organizers of the 5th Annual CCNY Zine & Self-Published Photo Book Fair at the Camera Club of New York, held at the Foley Gallery  http://www.cameraclubny.org/conversations_zine_2014.html ; Fryd is interviewed in Opaque Journal  http://opaquejournal.com/fryd-frydendahl/

Matthew Monteith GS95 has a solo exhibition The Explainers at the Mebane Gallery, University of Texas – Austin, September 8 – October 10  http://soa.utexas.edu/events/explainers-featuring-work-matthew-monteith ; Matthew gives a gallery talk on September 17  http://soa.utexas.edu/events/gallery-talk-reception-matthew-monteith-explainers

Salome Oggenfuss GS04 has a Kickstarter campaign for “The Other Side of Fashion Week”  https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/491260070/the-other-side-of-fashion-week ; Salome is interviewed in Dazed  http://www.dazeddigital.com/fashion/article/21480/1/exclusive-the-other-side-of-fashion-week

Alumni & Faculty News – Athena Torri, Yael Ben-Zion, Lamia Abillama, Martine Fougeron, Anja Hitzenberger

Athena Torri GS10 has a portfolio The Outsider in Yet Magazine   http://www.yet-magazine.com/the-outsider-by-athena-torri/

Viviana Peretti PJ10, Antonio Bolfo PJ09, Yael Ben-Zion GS07, Lamia Abillama GS06, faculty member Martine Fougeron GS06, faculty member Lauren Greenfield, faculty member Ron Haviv, faculty member Ed Kashi, Ilana Panich-Linsman PJ09, and faculty member Jonathan Torgovnik were selected for American Photography 30  http://www.ai-ap.com/slideshow/AP/30/?status=selected#1

Faculty member Anja Hitzenberger GS91 teaches Developing Your Composition Skills, September 21 http://www.photoville.com/2014-programming/2014-talks-workshops/developing-your-composition-skills/

Alumni & Faculty News – Frances Denny, Alex Nathanson, Gillian Laub, Fryd Frydendahl,

Frances Denny GS10 photographed “Uncommon Threads” for Architectural Digest  http://www.architecturaldigest.com/shop/2014-09/michael-savoia-embroidery

Alex Nathanson GS09 is reviewed in “New Filmmakers Still Makes Weekly Discoveries, 16 Years On” in The Village Voice  http://www.villagevoice.com/2014-08-20/film/newfilmmakers-series-2014/

Lucas Foglia and Gillian Laub GS98 are recipients of IPF Grants from the Aaron Siskind Foundation for 2014  http://aaronsiskind.org/recipients.html

Fryd Frydendahl GS09 is interviewed by Opaque Journal  http://opaquejournal.com/fryd-frydendahl/ and is profiled in Magasinet Kunst  http://www.magasinetkunst.dk/Home/Detail/MzA1Ng%3d%3d