24/7 – Claudia Retegan – GS 13 – Romania

mana

Claudia Retegan
Age: 28

Hometown: Romania

What were you doing before ICP?

Before ICP, I took a sabbatical year off working in advertising. It was an opportunity for me to realize what I really wanted for myself both on a personal and professional level. Having studied Graphic & Communication Design in the U. K. and working for another 3 years as an art director, my roots lie deep in advertising and graphic design. Before I moved to NYC, I was living in Bucharest, a city of contrasts. I had a cute, fluffy cat named Dante who I miss very much!  I used to love riding my bike everyday, going through Bucharest’s notoriously chaotic traffic.

9am: It’s hard to wake up. I stayed late last night in ICP, printing in the darkroom. Time for a quick shower? Nah.

10am: Ran to a copy shop that Per recommended to print the first copies of ‘Blame it On Your Parents.’

11:30am: Got to ICP and flattened the prints I made the day before.

12:30pm: Lunch at the Japanese place close to school. Miso soup and salmon sushi.

1pm: Just heard Aperture is coming for career day. I tried to sign up for it but all places were already taken 😦

1:30pm: Meeting with Allen Frame for help with sequencing  before career day. It’s always so good to meet Allen. Greatest voice ever.

2:15pm: Returned the Polaroid camera to the cage. It’s the last day to return cameras. Kay was there, she saved my ass as usual.

2:30pm: On my way to Chelsea. It’s the last seminar so Marina is taking us to see some shows to take some pressure off and take a break from thinking about portfolio printing

3pm: Yossi Milo Gallery, catching up with the group. I hope I didn’t miss out too much in Aperture since I had already been to the Martin Parr opening. Takuma Nakahira’s show is really inspiring, a clutter of images snaps of a place and time with a deliberately fucked up aesthetic.  

4pm: ICP Triennial. Luis Molina Pantin and AK Burns, two artists in the exhibition, [resent their work. It’s always nice to see how other artists talk about their work.

5pm:Back to class for the last seminar critique. It’s getting sentimental here. I’m going to miss this next year.

7pm:It’s raining outside. We stop for wine and cheese on the way to Travi’s place.

8pm: Post-seminar get-together chez Travi. Some people cooked. Vinni couldn’t come but he sent pizza. Marina’s making mojitos. We talk about past years and life after ICP

11pm: We are the last leaving the party, Martina, Kasumi, Alex, Dan, and I. We go to Brooklyn for a beer. Hell, why not? It’s not like I’m going to get any work done tonight. We end up in the Lucky Dog. Who walks in the door? Francesco, former ICP student! We both love the darkroom. Tonight, we love beer.

