Student Work – Alex Morvan

Alex Morvan – GS 13 – France

HALF LIFE (a video games diary / September to December 2012)

I have portrayed myself playing the role of different male archetypes featured in the video games I found in an apartment, which I was subletting. And these portraits are in dialogue with the landscapes of those worlds.I wanted to question the role and implications of playing with what has become one of the most prevalent forms of entertainment in the past 20 years. Does one have to totally forget oneself in order to enjoy them or can one stay oneself when playing and keep a certain distance with the game?

The landscape presented are often blurry as an expression that the games mostly prevent you from standing still.

This project represents a personal journey through these lands, a sort of reaction against what the games command.

