Athena Torri – Alumna GS10 – Italy, USA

Athena Torri – Alumna GS 10 – Italy, USA

What have you been doing since graduating from the General Studies Program?
Since my year with the General Studies Program was my Junior year of undergrad at Ringling College of Art and Design, I am currently completing my Senior year, working on my Thesis which is a continuation of the work I began at ICP. I have also been employed through a design firm, photographing for a magazine called Perspectives.

What impact has the experience of going through the ICP program had on you?
The most significant impact came from the people. I left New York City with a huge support group. Not only from the students I shared my year with but also from alumni, faculty and the constant flow of photographers that use the ICP facilities. It was remarkable to be surrounded by people that have a similar passion. It’s a very competitive and fast environment. I think this changed my life significantly and it certainly changed the way I view photography.

Is there anything that has surprised you subsequent to graduation?
Yes. Going in I never thought I would have learned and grown as much as I did in a year. I actually didn’t even realize how much everything changed until it was over. During the year things go really fast and a lot of information is thrown at you. Finally, after a few months of being away it hits you. It is a great feeling.

What would you say to people contemplating applying to the program?
It is a great opportunity for anyone who is serious about photography or art. It is a challenge that will shape you as a photographer and help you expand. I think everyone I shared my year with entered as one person and left as another. It was remarkable to see everyone grow and change into their new identities as photographers.

