24/7 – Kenneth Pizzo – GS 12 – USA

k_pizzo-4

Kenneth Pizzo
Age: 23
Hometown: New York

What were you doing before ICP?
I was and still am working towards my photography BFA at St. John’s.

7am: Wake up, fall back asleep, wake again and rush into the shower while brewing coffee.

8am: On the train into the city, heading in early to buy supplies before Alternative Processes class. Frantically look for stores that carry the paper I’ve become attached to.

8:30am: Third store has the paper and a nice enough portfolio box for tomorrow’s critique. Guest critics invited, things must look neat and prepared.

9:30am: Second coffee with a donut in the student lounge before class begins.

10am: Class starts, luckily my exposure times are long enough that I can also juggle printing in the digital lab simultaneously.

11:30am: Hour and a half later and I have a single print that I’m happy with, although now I’m questioning if I like the image itself.

1pm: Clean up the mess I made in class, make sure prints are drying properly on the racks to leave overnight. Time to grab lunch at my favorite food cart and head to the mounter to inspect work for the exhibition.

2pm: Back at school, ate too much to hold me over for the rest of the day.  Digital lab appointment to work on prints for career day portfolios and extra prints for tomorrow’s crit. Impressive guest critics are already making me nervous.

3pm: Two prints done. Just tweaking images that are nearly completed.

4pm: Help a classmate with a zine layout.

5pm: Four prints done.

6pm: Take a break to grab a coffee, rest my eyes and stretch my legs. Second wind starts up.

9pm: Leave the lab feeling satisfied. Head home.

9:30pm: Get home, have some tea and start writing prepared notes for tomorrow’s critique. All prints are ready and I have a loose idea of how I’m going to lay them out on the wall.

11:30 pm to 12am: Exhausted but got a lot done, ready for 10 months of hard work to be critiqued tomorrow…feeling confident.

